skip navigation
Home Learning Resource Center Reading Recommendations

Reading Recommendations

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools.  The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois for nearly 50 years.  The award is given in recognition for her literary talent and the universal appeal of her books which have touched the hearts of many children and young adults.

The purposes of the Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award are:Newbery Award medal

  • To encourage children and young adults to read for personal satisfaction.
  • To develop a statewide awareness of outstanding literature for children and 
    young people and to promote a desire for literacy.
  • To encourage cooperation among Illinois agencies providing educational and 
    library service to young people. 


What Should I Read Next?  Enter the title of a book you liked and the site will analyze a huge database of real readers' favorite books to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.

Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Stay updated with what's happening at Timber Ridge Middle School